Exposing Yourself: Putting It Out There

11 Nov

And by “it”, I mean, the writing. I have been debating for a little while as to whether or not I want to actually put passages or lines I’ve written on this blog. But, in order for you to like what I write, you have to read it, right? Which leads me back to exposing myself. Relax….although this is soul-baring, no actual parts of me will be exposed, so there will be no need for eye-shielding and running shrieking into the night.

Since I am using this blog as a writing exercise, I thought I should go ahead and start posting. Who knows if any of this will ever make it to the printed page, but I am putting myself out there and I am encouraging all of you to do the same.

Occasionally publishers will ask you to write a back cover blurb to submit along with your manuscript and synopsis. You all know what this is….and you are all guilty. Of picking up the book, turning it over after having paused to look at the (hopefully) licentious cover art, reading the back paragraphs and then summarily PUTTING IT BACK! Oh, ye of little faith! As I started to write mine, I sat back and recalled just how often I was guilty of this nefarious practice. I must grab you. Again, relax. Metaphors, people. What I want to grab is your attention, your interest, and yes, your ten bucks in paperback.

So, here goes…my FIRST attempt at a back cover blurb for my manuscript, tentatively titled “Redemption In Blood”. Read, enjoy, point and laugh, or offer suggestions. I thank you.

Murder is serious business among vampires. If you kill, so do they. They are the Penitent – a military order among vampire society charged with one task only. Execute the condemned.

Vesper Hyde is a model Penitent. Solitary. Skilled. Deadly. Only once has she ever lost a target, even though it almost cost her life. Now the one that got away is back with a vengeance, and this time he’s determined to finish the job. She needs to overcome the whispers of doubt and let her instinct and training take over to redeem her failure. But on this second time around, she doesn’t expect a sidekick. A very sexy, stubborn, human sidekick.

Homicide Detective Decker Price has seen it all, including the murder of his wife at the hands of a twisted serial killer. When another murder pitches him headfirst into a world of vampires, witches, and sorcery, he is given a chance to mend shattered parts of his soul. But Vesper’s world is as dark and alluring as the Penitent herself and he will come face to face with echoes of his past in order to help her keep a vicious enemy at bay.

If they are to succeed, they will need to push aside both their failings and work together to ensure the balance of their worlds remains unchanged. Redemption comes at a cost – is their love worth the price?

One Response to “Exposing Yourself: Putting It Out There”

  1. Lori November 11, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

    Now I need to read the book again…Dammit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

