Books Worth Buying: Apartment 16

26 Jul

Today, I am pleased to have one of my author friends guest posting on this “Books Worth Buying” segment. The lovely and talented Miranda Stork has stopped by to highlight a book on her personal “Books Worth Buying” list.

She is a wonderfully funny and insightful lady, and I value her opinion tremendously. So, without further ado, let’s hear what she has to say regarding “Apartment 16” by Adam Nevill. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you Miranda Stork.

Apartment 16 by Adam Nevill

When Tara asked me to choose my favourite book I would offer up to the ‘Books Worth Buying’ table, I had to think quite hard about it. There are hundreds, so I decided to go with the newest one I have, ‘Apartment 16’ by Adam Nevill. One of my favourite genres is Horror, but you don’t always see that many good British authors of it now, so I jumped on this when I saw it. I couldn’t put it down-not at all. In fact, I’m pretty sure I burnt the dinner that night. Didn’t even blink when the firemen ran through, that’s how engrossed I was.

It starts off as a great old-school horror, with the female protagonist being left an apartment in rich Belgravia in London by her estranged great-aunt. The apartment, and it’s building, holds more than a few dark secrets, the occupants among them. The story flits between the niece, and one of the apartment building’s guards as he discovers something odd about one of the apartments, both of their stories entwining and building into a horrific and unexpected ending.

Back Cover Blurb: Some doors are better left closed . . . In Barrington House, an upmarket block in London, there is an empty apartment. No one goes in, no one comes out. And it’s been that way for fifty years. Until the night watchman hears a disturbance after midnight and investigates. What he experiences is enough to change his life forever. A young American woman, Apryl, arrives at Barrington House. She’s been left an apartment by her mysterious Great Aunt Lillian who died in strange circumstances. Rumours claim Lillian was mad. But her diary suggests she was implicated in a horrific and inexplicable event decades ago. Determined to learn something of this eccentric woman, Apryl begins to unravel the hidden story of Barrington House. She discovers that a transforming, evil force still inhabits the building. And the doorway to Apartment 16 is a gateway to something altogether more terrifying . . . – courtesy of Amazon.com

A special thanks to Ms. Stork for her feature here today. We look forward to having her back again soon!!

A little more about Miranda Stork and where to find her and her books:

Miranda Stork

I was born in Guisborough, North Yorkshire in 1987 and have lived in various places around Britain, including Newcastle and Glasgow.
My writing is inspired by various writers, including the vivid characters of Charles Dickens, the imagination of Stephen King, and the gothic imagery of Anne Rice.

My love of horror began at an early age, when I was only three or four. I could read proficiently at the age of three, and devoured fairy-stories, but I always had a bent towards the darker stories, such as the Brother’s Grimm’s tales…Red Riding Hood was always a firm favourite, although I always felt sorry for the wolf, despite him having tried to eat everyone!

Connect with Miranda:

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

