Interview with Author Karli Rush

6 Aug

Today, I am so excited to bring to you another author interview! Let me introduce you to the very talented Karli Rush, author of dark paranormal romance and suspense/thrillers. She has stopped by to talk to us today about the first book in her series, “Crescent Bound”.

A brief description: Alyssa Worthington is the daughter and sole heir to the most prestigious coven in the witch world. She never would envision an ex-high school quarterback from a small town in Montana being her salvation. Dark Secrets, dark magic and a desperate desire for revenge will bring Alyssa to the brink of destruction. Will she survive? Will she overcome or will her destiny rest on being Crescent Bound?

Enticing, yes? Now on to the interview!

What was your favorite part of “Crescent Bound”?  Dim Sum Scene – Read the book to find out more, kidding.  It is a flirty scene where Alyssa covers her eyes and Marc feeds her food.  Get it wrong; take off a piece of clothing.  Strip supper you could call it.

What was the hardest part to write?  Marc kissing Kelly, It’s hard to put your characters through too much, emotionally I’m along for the ride too.  That was a tough one for me.

What do you wish was different about this book?  The first part of the books builds the story; I wish I were able to bring the world out quicker.  The good stuff fills the pages of the second half of the book.

“Crescent Bound” is the first in a series. What sparked the idea for this series and how many books do you anticipate?  Crescent Bound, Raven Bound, and Demon Bound originally was one story which came to me in a dream.  I wrote with a frenzy and once I was done I had about 300,000 words.  I went back and broke it up into three books.  From there two more books came flooding out as well.  The prequel, going back in time when Alyssa and Marc’s souls meet for the very first time in Shadow Bound and then finally Crescent Bound told by Marc’s point of view.  Ice Bound is so full of unseen events in Crescent Bound that it will stand on its own.

Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?  I bow to the masterful Stephen King and his wonderfully haunting book “Bag of Bones.”  I also have several others that are on my list but he is at the top.

How personal is your writing?  Extremely personal, I put apart of me into each and every sentence, which is why this is not a job to me but a true passion.

Are you a plotter or a pantster?  Panster baby all the way!

What is your writing routine?  Once I get pulled into a story I’ll lock myself away and write hard, but in between it is editing, researching, kids, laundry, and then when the inspiration hits again off I go sequestering myself.

Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel? The character is definitely the focal point in all my writings.

 How did you choose the genre you write in?  To be honest it chose me, because I never even thought about it, I just started writing.

 How did you come up with the title?  I was inspired by the concept of the story and when it linked to the moon shaped tattoo it just came to me and it fit.  I don’t remember really deciding to name it that, it just happened.

What project are you working on now?  Seducing a Mermaid, it will probably be a short story, not sure if it will even make it to the novelette stage, but we will see.  I will wait to tell you more, but the title tells you quite a bit.  It is a fun one to write and I will have this one out there very soon.

Are there certain themes you like to address in your writing?  Strong women, independent and self confident, we could use more women that stood on their own and still loves also.

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?  Write, don’t you dare let anyone put you down, follow your heart no matter what your head says.  Don’t quit, push through and once you get one book under your skirt, or belt, write on, it becomes a way of life.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment? The toughest criticism, was an in your face degradation on the fine points of my first book, it was harsh. But in the end I learned how to turn it into something more productive and hopefully it has improved my writing today. The best compliment, my story took someone on a fun filled, intriguing journey giving them a break from a stressful world and they truly appreciated it.

If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be and why? Jenny McCarthy, she’s a phenomenal woman, a mother of an autistic son, and a writer I would have so much to ask her and to let her know how much she has positively affected my own life.  Stephen King, he is my all inspiration when it comes to writing and writing well. My last choice would be my deceased mother to learn the things about her that I never had the chance to learn.

As a special treat, Ms. Rush is sharing an excerpt with us from “Crescent Bound”!!

Excerpt:

Her demented song continues as I run, “Ring around the rosie, the tarot cards have told me, your time winds down.” More planks come smashing down, and this time one that is right under my foot.  I reach out and grab to the side of me, the inside of the bridge is undeniably dark.  All I feel is a mossy, slime covered wall, but I push myself and catch my balance and move onward. Never looking back, I really don’t want to see what’s making the planks break with such force and I definitely don’t want to see her.

Again her sick melody follows nevertheless. “Ring around the Rosie, you’re the evil thing before me, I can’t wait to crush you, into the ground.” 

A brief bio for Karli Rush: Karli has always blazed her own trail, whether popular or not. She has three wonderful sons and is contently married to a supportive husband. Her passion outside of writing is photography and all things natural. She is an Autism advocate and enjoys hiking, bike riding and family.

Karli was born deep in Cherokee Nation Indian Territory where she grew up loving everything paranormal and has even, first hand, witnessed a womanly spirit. The sighting, as it is referred to, occurred in Eureka Springs, Arkansas one of the top ten most haunted hotels, The Crescent Hotel. This experience captured Karli in ways that have expanded her beliefs about the possibilities of other realms.

As a teen, Karli was an avid reader, she sought out solitude for her passion in nearby Indian Graveyards. Although writing was something that has pulled at her most of her life, it wasn’t until a recent visit to a Shaman, who saw her spirit’s need for creativity, that she truly began down the path.

The Crescent Bound series is her first work which will consist of five books in all. She is simply thrilled to be able to share all the adventures of Alyssa Worthington with you.

Karli’s ideal world would be one of open-minded kindness from everyone.

Connect with Karli Rush:

Karli Rush’s Official website http://www.wix.com/crescentbound/karli-rush#!home|mainPage

Karli’s author Facebook https://www.facebook.com/karli.rush1

Crescent Bound Fan page https://www.facebook.com/pages/Crescent-Bound/248279951917028

Crescent Bound at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Crescent-Bound-ebook/dp/B007E5OD2U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342940041&sr=8-1&keywords=crescent+bound

Crescent Bound at Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/135671

Raven Bound at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Raven-Bound-Crescent-ebook/dp/B008EX46NW/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1342940190&sr=1-1&keywords=raven+bound

Raven Bound at Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/175768

It was a pleasure to have Karli with us today and get to know her a little better. Please take some time and connect with her and enjoy her work!!

Happy Reading and Cheers!!

2 Responses to “Interview with Author Karli Rush”

  1. writermirandastork August 6, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    I absolutely loved the interview you two, great post! It’s wonderful to see a little more into the magical world of the ‘Bound’ series, and to see what’s coming up the next releases! I also thought the three people you would choose to have a dinner with was very sweet, I loved that.

    Thanks for the great interview, both of you, and I can’t wait for Karli’s next book! 😀

    Like

  2. rushboundblog August 6, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Thanks Tara for the wonderful opportunity. I thoroughly enjoyed it! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

