Interview with Author Shiralyn Lee

10 Sep

Pink Crush at Amazon.com

Happy Monday, folks! It’s time for another author spotlight! Today I have the pleasure of introducing you to the fabulous Shiralyn Lee! Shiralyn is a bold talent in the realm of lesbian erotica and romance. It was great to get a chance to talk with her and find out a bit more about the woman and her work! She is highlighting her book, “Pink Crush”.

A brief description: This full length novel containing 79,000 words is about Danny Cooper; a female firefighter living in London, England. She meets a mystery girl and is instantly attracted to her, but unknown to Danny this girl (Izzy) is keeping a secret. She is a well known actress in her country and is undercover using Danny for research to gain insight into the lesbian world for her next movie. Danny is crushed when she discovers Izzy’s hidden agenda but through unusual circumstances soon finds a new love interest when she meets Sasha. But Danny has to be patient as Sasha has been trying to save her relationship with her girlfriend Debs, a girl who Danny has someone in common with.

Interview time!!!

What was your favorite part of the book?

When I wrote Pink Crush I thought deep within myself and imagined how I would react to some of the scenarios that Danny experienced. I can’t really specify a favorite part of this book as I love every part of it; even the enemies have grown on me.

What was the hardest part to write in the book?

This book flowed for me, thankfully but I feel the hardest parts were the scenes that were true to me. Where a situation has happened to me in real life I find that I really want to write about it but transferring that moment from real life into fiction can be a little tricky at times.

What do you wish was different about the book?

I don’t think that I do wish for anything different, the book wrote itself and I just tapped on the keyboard like a silent partner.

Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?

I love Pat Califia, Suzy Bright and for a touch of romance Sophie Kinsella. These ladies have inspired me in what I actually write.

What sparked the idea for your novel?

A female firefighter from Vancouver took part in Vancouver Pride and boy was she fun. She had such a charisma about her, just a beautiful young woman with a great career ahead of her. She went on a trip to India and on her motorbike was hit by a car, the coward didn’t stop and left her in the road. She survived the hit but later died in hospital due to the wonderful pen pushers not accepting her without her insurance papers. This was a case of money before life which needs to change. I dedicated this book in her memory.

How personal is your writing?

My writing can get extremely personal, my first novel Loving the Pink Kiss is 95% based on my life and I turned it into a romantic comedy to give it some pizzazz.

Are you a plotter or a pantster?

I plot! Everything has to flow and be in place, my brain is constantly thinking ahead for the next scene.

What is your writing routine?

I’ll write whenever I get the chance to. I work full time and adding the travelling time on top of that leaves me little room to write each day, but I try with all my might to get something in. Weekends are my friend, type, type, type.

Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

The idea for the novel is more prominent and characters seem to just fall in place. They evolve as the story grows.

How did you choose the genre you write in?

I write lesbian erotica because a) I am a lesbian and b) I like to write about it as it is a smaller niche. I have so many followers on twitter who tell me that they love what I write and to keep them coming.

How did you come up with the title?

Pink Crush title came about because I love pink and a few of my books have pink in their titles and the second part Crush well that’s what the story is based around, a girl with a crush.

What project are you working on now?

I have a couple that I’m working on, She’s on the Ball is about a female football team, Jacks being the main character and a lesbian of course. She is the goalie of her team and her girlfriend…well let’s just say her girlfriend isn’t so in love with the idea of being with her. I am also working on Lesbian in Question and Breathless. These two stories will be featured in one book. The first story is based on Pippa a girl who wakes up in someone else’s bed and discovers a naked body on the floor. She has no recollection of the previous night’s activities and believes that she may have murdered this girl. The second story is based on Ryleigh a submissive girlfriend. Her life is changed as she discovers that her girlfriend has hired a hit on her as she knows too much. There is a twist to this story and I don’t want to give any of it away. Both stories are geared towards, murder, mystery and romance.

Are there certain themes you like to address in your writing?

Where ever I can I like to induce real life events. If they haven’t come from me or a close friend then I will use historical events. If you read Vampire Changeling you’ll see that I used the great frost of 1709 as a tool to bring the vampires into England and also the battle of Malplaquet, many were slaughtered in France and I used that as a way of vampires killing without being detected.

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Keep true to yourself. Write about what you are most passionate about and try not to be influenced by friends/relatives who feel that their ideas would be a great story to use. Also be prepared to sell yourself because your books won’t sell without your hard work promoting them. Twitter the hell out of them and Facebook, blog, talk to your friends work colleagues. Writing is considered the easy part, now you have to get the world to notice you.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

Hum, I had one woman leave a review for The Submissive Scullery Maid, this story is set in Victorian times and I included snippets of Jack the Ripper murders to keep the era alive as the reader gets stuck in. All of my books including this one state very clearly that they are lesbian based and erotica/BDSM. So you can imagine how I felt when they gave me a 1 star and said they liked the story but didn’t like the lesbian aspect. I checked them out to find they have read many lesbian and erotica books. Makes me wonder. The best compliment is that Loving the Pink Kiss was read by a lady in the film industry. She works in LA and tracked my email down to send me a message. She told me that I have got gold with this story and that I should turn it into a screenplay. She will even put me in touch with someone who can help. That will be exciting when it happens.

If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be and why?

My first choice would be my dad. He passed away in June 2 days after my birthday. We hadn’t spoken in several years because of my sexual orientation and just a week before he died we actually managed to talk on the phone; he was my hero and still is. My second choice would be my mother. We haven’t seen each other for over 20 years but we manage to Facebook every now and again. God I’m sounding like a right saddo now. My third choice would be the cast from Modern Family. Oh god I think I would be peeing my pants with laughter every five minutes if I met with these guys.

I have enjoyed being interviewed here and I thank you very much for the opportunity.

And here’s where you can find Shiralyn and her books online! She loves to hear from fans, so connect with her!!!

Shiralyn Lee

Bio: Born in England I emigrated to Canada with my wife in 2007. This is where my first novel was created. I began writing a lesbian romantic comedy with a light erotic base but then I created a drama with a slightly stronger sexual content.
Over time my work has changed route and I have ventured into the darker side of writing about sex. I have decided to move away from the mainstream erotic stories and now focus on BDSM and explicit sexual scenarios. If my work doesn’t state BDSM it isn’t going to be too far from kink and I’ve also included a strong use of bad language as this gives the story a sense of reality.
My main priority is to produce works for like minded lesbians who just love to read in the category that I produce as this is one genre that I find has limited choices.
With some of my work I have included a romantic situation but anyone who is an avid reader of my books will know that there will always be sex and that I’m not afraid to use strong descriptive words to go along with the scene.

Shiralyn’s Links:

3 Responses to “Interview with Author Shiralyn Lee”

  1. Shiralyn Lee September 10, 2012 at 9:18 am #

    Thank you soooo much Tara for hosting me on your blog page. I had fun answering your questions and it’s always good to share. Hardest part is keeping it clean…wink wink 🙂

    Like

  2. Elodie Parkes September 10, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Loved the interview. Shiralyn is always interesting and strong in her belief in being true to yourself. I like that 🙂

    Like

  3. Blue Harvest Creative September 12, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Excellent blog! Loved the questions and it was interesting to learn more about you and your work. I salute you for dedicating your book to the poor woman who died. Best of luck to you with your writing career!

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

