Interview with Author Julie Moss

17 Sep

It’s time for another author interview at The Tarasphere! I know, right? *does happy dance* Grab your coffee and plunk yourself down and get read to meet Julie Moss. We’re getting a chance to sit down and talk to this author of erotica about her novel, “Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole”.

A brief description: Bryant belongs to a club where you do not engage in carnal activity until you have found your wife. The club membership is passed down through families at the all boy school he attends. When Bryant and his fellow yellow jackets move in next to a couple of college girls they find it difficult to keep their oath to the club.  Bryant especially struggles due to the super hot Summer who enjoys tempting him any chance she gets.

Time for the interview!!

What was your favorite part of the book?

My favorite part is when the girls show up at the meeting. They are there to fluster the boys, and I think it is funny.

What was the hardest part to write in the book?

The sex scenes because I wanted them to be hot, but still fit the story.

What do you wish was different about the book?

Nothing. I like where it went and how it ended.

Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?

Nora Roberts/ Ricochet among countless others.

What sparked the idea for your novel?

I literally saw a yellow jacket trying to find its hole, and the idea sprang into my head.

How personal is your writing?

Sometimes I put a little bit of myself in my stories. I like to write Erotica that is unexpected. I like to turn stories into Erotica that might not have been made for that. I am rambling, the answer is yes.

Are you a plotter or a pantster?

I am definitely a pantster. I let the story take me where it wants to go.

What is your writing routine?

I sit in front of my laptop and tell my brain to slow down.

Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

It really all comes to me at once in a rush. Plot, storyline, characters, scenarios, they just all rush in.

How did you choose the genre you write in?

I write for a few different dating and sex sites so I thought I would try my hand at Erotica. I love trying new genres, and I love a challenge.

How did you come up with the title?

The same thing happened with the title. Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole, I saw a yellow jacket struggling and there it was.

What project are you working on now?

I am about to start another Erotic short called The Siren’s Gift, it is a sequel of sorts to the Siren’s Song but deals with a different sister.

Are there certain themes you like to address in your writing?

I never really plan out what is going to happen so I have to say no.

What advice do you have for someone who would like to become a published writer?

Write all the time, and write what you know.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?

I think my toughest criticism has been when someone doesn’t like a character’s name. I want to go it’s my story, and I love that name. My best is when people tell me they like the wit in my writing. I adore being funny.

If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be and why?

My granddaddy, my mamaw, and my uncle. I would ask them what the afterlife is like!!

Thank you for having me!! I enjoyed myself… xo Julie

Ms. Moss has been lovely enough to give us an excerpt:

Henry seemed to have it together a little more, “Bryant, this is Summer and Holly.”

Shaking Holly’s hand first as he moved forward he found his voice, “Nice to meet you.” Something happened when he took Summer’s hand and he looked into her eyes. The whole world stood still and an electric shock went through her hand to his.

“Sorry,” her voice broke through distracting him from his momentary lack of reality, “I must have rubbed the carpet on my way out.”

She was talking about the shock; of course she felt it to. Wow, he had totally misinterpreted that situation and hoped he wasn’t blushing.

“It’s okay Summer; you girls want anything to drink? We have, well nothing because we need to go to the store.”

She laughed and smiled brightly at him, “No we are on our way out, we just wanted to stop by and say hello.

“We are having a party tonight,” Roy blurted out, it’s going to be great, you girls should stop by.”

Holly spoke up this time as she laid her hand on Roy’s arm, “We might just do that.”

The girls left and went back over to their house, while Bryant tried to figure out if he had made an ass out of himself. He decided it could have been a lot worse, and looked at Roy.

“What do you mean we are having a party tonight? I thought that you were waiting until we got all of our shit moved in. The place is a mess.” He didn’t want to have a party that night; he wanted to get his room in order in case Summer wanted to come over. What was he thinking? She did not want to come over.

“Didn’t you see what just went down man, that Holly chick wants my nuts? I already invited everyone anyway so you better get ready.”

Somehow Bryant was not convinced that Holly wanted his nuts, whatever that meant. He did find himself wondering if Summer wanted his nuts briefly. He threw up his hands in defeat and went to get ready.

As soon as it was dark outside people started to show up. Somehow Roy had convinced some guys in the Yellow Jackets to bring the keg and buy the tap. Bryant recognized them as newer members and figured they were trying to impress them.

The party was mostly males, and Henry was beginning to wonder if Roy even invited girls.

“Did you just want to have a sausage party Roy, because that is what is going on right now? Everywhere I look, there are sausages.”

Henry walked into the kitchen to get another beer and Bryant looked at Roy.

“I invited girls dude, just it looks like they didn’t show up.”

Bryant shook his head and followed Henry, he wondered if the girls would show up from next door. That was really all he cared about. He found himself thinking about Summer as he continued to drink.

The party was starting to get a little destructive. Some of the Yellow Jackets had remained sober so he looked to them to help get the party in order. He was worried that they were already going to destroy the house. If it survived this party then there would not be another one.

He was trying to get a couple of guys to stop leaning over the stairs when she got to the party. She walked in smiling with Holly and four other girls. She was as beautiful as he remembered.

Every guy in the room stopped and stared at her. He realized that they were not alone, they had brought men with them.

Julie Moss

And here’s a little more about Julie and her books!

Bio: I am a writer of science fiction books, and paramormal romance novels. I want to keep my identity a secret because it is fun to be Julie. This is why I created the avi for her. I enjoy writing erotica, and especially if I can turn a story you would normally not expect to be erotica. That is what I feel like Why Yellow Jackets Can’t Find the Hole is. It’s a coming of age story that has an erotic element.

Julie’s Links (provided by the author):

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

