Guest Post by Lindsay Avalon in honor of the release of “Breaking the Nexus”!

16 Dec

L_Avalon_Tour_Banner-(300-x-225)

Welcome to the official release tour for Breaking the Nexus by Lindsay Avalon! This action-packed paranormal romance will be released on 12/12/12 on Amazon in ebook and print!! To celebrate, Lindsay will holding giveaways throughout the month and a release day party filled with games and plenty of prizes!

The blog tour runs from Dec 1-31 and there are over 40 blogs participating! Join her on each stop as she shares exclusive snippets from the book, answers interview questions, or guest posts, and leave a comment to enter for your chance to win prizes!  Don’t forget to enter the rafflecopter grand prize giveaway while you’re at it! Prizes include Breaking the Nexus swag, ebooks, custom jewelry, and more!

For a complete list of blogs participating, dates of special giveaways, the grand prize rafflecopter, and a list of the amazing authors generously donating books and swag, check out the special page on Lindsay Avalon’s blog: http://lindsayavalon.blogspot.com/p/breaking-nexus-blog-tour.html

For today’s excitement, the lovely Lindsay is guest posting for us here at The Tarasphere! Go on, she what she has to say.

If anyone had told me a year ago that I’d be gearing up to publish my first solo paranormal romance, I’d have called them crazy. You see, I never finish anything. Part of it stems from having ADHD which gives me the attention span of a gnat. By the time I come home from my day job, I’m bouncing off the walls and who wants to sit still for another few hours and write when they’re like that? The other part though, that’s the fear talking.

Some of you may know me from Facebook and Twitter and have seen me flit around like the Energizer bunny on crack. Deep down, I’m shy. The shyness comes from a multitude of reasons, none of which I’ll go into or else we’d be here all day. Moral of the story? I knew social networking would be a huge part of publishing a book and it scared the living daylights out of me.

If that’s true, what am I doing here today with my paranormal romance, Breaking the Nexus,all shiny and new on Amazon? I’m a masochist I suppose. Whenever something scares me about myself, I force myself to do it. Give me a scary movie? I’ll run screaming from the room never to be heard from again. Tell me I’m going to have to give a speech to the class? The fear of public speaking scares me so much I’ll go audition for every singing role I can, because it’s more terrifying to sing and dance in front of someone than to give a silly little speech.

My hyperness puts off a lot of people in my life. Ever since I was a child, I’ve had people telling me to calm down, to talk slower, to lower my voice, to sit still. It’s a fact of life, not something to be pitied. Luckily, I met the most wonderful man in the world who finds it amusing when I jump up and down in a circle giggling like a loon. The thought of throwing myself to the proverbial wolves and introducing myself to my fellow authors was not easy. What if they don’t like me? What if I annoy everyone? Can I really change my personality if people think I’m too hyper? There was only one way to find out and I knew I’d always regret not giving it a shot.

You may be wondering where I’m going with this. Lately I’ve had a few people approach me asking me how I do it. I’ve only published a novella and yet I’ve somehow generated a lot of interest in my new book. To be honest, I don’t know. Instead of being annoyed by my insanity, people seem to love the energy. I discovered I didn’t have to change myself online, I could be myself.

I know I’m not the only introverted author out there. Yes, despite my hyperness and craziness online, I’m an introvert. Put me in a party situation and I’ll be the one keeping to herself in the back of the room feeling out of place. I’m writing this post as a message to my fellow introverts. People will love your personality no matter who you are. Ignore all of those doubts screaming at you, all of the horrible experiences you may have had where you felt like the most awkward person in the world. The beauty of the internet is its ability to connect you with far more people than you’d ever have the chance to meet in real life.

The only way to make a name for yourself is to take charge and throw yourself into social networking. It’s terrifying and exciting and the payoff is huge. Not only will more people learn about your fabulous books, you’ll make friends that will last you a lifetime. If people don’t like you, move on and keep searching until you find your niche.

So long story short, how did I manage to make a name for myself without publishing a single book on my own? I took that heartstopping first step and introduced myself to a stranger online. I tried to meet as many people as I could until I found the right group of people who meshed with my personality. And then, I forgot about the stresses of publishing a book and focused on building my new friendships. The rest sort of fell into place as I went. There’s room for everyone in this amazing community of authors. If you need a place to start, give me a shout out, I promise I don’t bite…much 😉

Keep going for a peek at the cover, a blurb, and the rafflecopter link!

Click it. Click it. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Click it. Click it. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Throughout history, myths and legends of extraordinary creatures have been told and retold. Fantastic tales of demons and banshees, gryphons and dragons, and of course, magic. Stories that every child grows to learn are nothing more than fantasy…or are they?

Beyond the world you see lies a hidden realm, the Mythrian Realm, inhabited by all of the creatures you’ve been told are mere fiction. Only one thing lies between humans and the truth: the Nexus. A magical barrier erected millennia ago to separate the two realms, it has stood the test of time. Until now.

For Mythrian Sha Phoenix, magic is nothing new. But when she stumbles upon a portal on the verge of collapse, her fate will forever change. Pulled through the portal into the Human Realm, she lands in the middle of Detective Connor Flynn’s brutal murder scene. Soon it is obvious someone is using blood magic to try to bring down the Nexus. Together, Connor and Sha must work to unravel the secrets before the barrier falls and the realms collide.

The Nexus is breaking and all hell is about to unleash…literally.

Breaking the Nexus Now Available!!! Buy it on Amazon!

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY!  http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0a8d1f8/

Blog Tour and Release Day Party Facebook Event: http://www.facebook.com/events/174143076057719/

a84b77723a970a7e9d9a1f.L._V400704507_SX200_Lindsay’s Bio and Links:

I am a wife, a programmer, and now an author. I have an adorable mini Schnauzer and more books than I have room for. I love reading romance because no matter what may be happening in my life, I can always count on my books to end happily ever after. The day I met my husband was the day I truly began believing in happily ever after. After hearing me complain a few too many times that I had “nothing” to read despite the hundreds of paperbacks scattered around the house, my husband began suggesting I write my own stories. When I finally took his advice I discovered that although I enjoy my day job as a software engineer, my true calling is to be an author.

My sister drilled into me an appreciation for fantasy and mythology, something I try to bring to my books. My debut novel, Breaking the Nexus started as a book written for NaNoWriMo and has grown to so much more. It was the conduit that introduced me to a fantastic group of independent authors who have changed my life in unimaginable ways.

When I’m not writing, I’ve found a passion for blogging and interviewing fellow authors. I also love reading (of course!), baking, crochet, sewing sock monkeys, playing video games, and all sorts of random crafts. I have an incurable love of rubber duckies and stuffed animals, and I believe nobody should have to grow up if they don’t want.

 

3 Responses to “Guest Post by Lindsay Avalon in honor of the release of “Breaking the Nexus”!”

  1. teracia2 December 17, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    love the Lindsay Avalon take over lol she is amazing read her book you will not regret it

    Like

    • tarawood21 December 17, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      She is amazing, indeed. All of the M-7 ladies rock!!!

      Like

  2. bn100 December 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    Nice cover and post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

