Interview with Author Tyffani Clark Kemp!

1 Aug

I am so pleased to have Tyffani Clark Kemp here on The Tarasphere today! A fabulous author and friend, she’s got a new release that I’m sure you’ve seen floating about the intarwebs. So take a moment and settle in, we’re gonna sit down and get to know a little more about this great writer. Links to the goods will be provided at the end. You’ll want to stick around for those.

On to the interview!!! ALLONS-Y!!!

In case you didn't know.

In case you didn’t know.

What was your favorite part of Shaggy Maggie?  There’s a scene where Magda catches Harvey skinny dipping with his girlfriend. She tries to steal his clothes, but being the clumsy thing that she is, she slips and falls. Harvey rushes over to make sure she’s okay, but, of course, he’s naked and Magda stares up at his “business,” complete with Prince Albert piercing. “Merry Feckin’ Christmas to her.”

What do you wish was different about the book?  I’m actually pretty insecure about this one. As much as I loved the story, I felt like it wasn’t my strongest piece. It’s shorted than what I’m used to writing, so maybe that’s why I’m a little worried about it? I’m not sure what I would have changed persay. I just felt it needed…more. Everyone who has read it has loved it though. So it’s probably just me being a diva author. lol

Who are your favorite authors? Favorite books?  Oh, I have so many favorites and they are all across the board. Ted Dekker, Lori Wick, Tara Wood (yes, you), J. A. Howell, Miranda Stork…I could go on all day. Patricia Briggs. I LOVE her Mercy Thompson series. Phantom of the Opera is one of my favorite books. The Princes, by Lori Wick.

How strict are you with plotting? Do you outline or go where the story takes you?   I usually just go where the story takes me, but lately I’ve taken to needing to plot. I’ve been having trouble getting my thoughts under control so I have to write out a timeline to make sure I’ve got everything I want in the story.

What is your writing routine?   Do it whenever I can.  I don’t really have much of a routine. I just do it.

Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?  Usually the idea. The character’s story comes as I write.

I’m already in love with Harvey and Magda, you know that. Any more books with these characters in the future?  YES! I have three more planned. Want to know the names? Beckman’s Bane, CaitaLynn’s Curse, and Lender’s Lament.  Magda and Harvey will be in the background of these stories, but they’ll be there, causing trouble and getting hurt. LOL. I can’t say when these will be available, but Beckman’s Bane will hopefully be ready next year. And there will *hopefully* be a surprised to go with them. All I’m saying is, the series title is The Shaggy Maggie Band. 

What project(s) are you working on now?  Right now I’m getting my erotica novel The Man Without Rules ready to format and print. Sebastian Boa will have you begging for more. I can guarantee it. I’m also trying to get Hunted ready to go in October. It’s the sequel to my vampire novel, Scorned.

What has been the toughest criticism given to you as an author? What has been the best compliment?   I was told that my characters in Scorned weren’t well developed in a review. It wasn’t even a bad review, but I thought I did a pretty good job. LOL. The best compliment was at ConCarolina’s this year. Allen Wold, a prominent science fiction writer raved about Scorned and bought a copy. He had me sign it and said he was going to put it in his “to be read pile” by his bed. I think that will forever be a defining moment in my career as a writer.

If you could have dinner with three people, dead or alive, who would they be and why?   David Gandy, because I have an obsession with his face. LOL. Chris Hemsworth, because I want to ask him to be Gabe when we make the Beast Within movie. And C.S. Lewis. I just want to talk books with him.

David Gandy, people. Because I also have an obsession with his face. UGH.

David Gandy, people. Because I also have an obsession with his face. UGH.

Now the fun questions:

Favorite junk food?   Sour Punch straws and chocolate. Together. Seriously. You need to try it.

Tea or coffee?  I’m not a huge fan of either. But I’ll probably take coffee over tea.

Favorite superhero(ine)? Why?   Superman. Because he’s super. =)

Favorite color?  Purple

Favorite place you’ve visited?  Washington State. I went for a wedding. I went to Forks. It sucks. Seattle was everything I hoped, though.

What’s one quirky or fun fact about you?   My knees go backwards.

All I have to say about Shaggy Maggie is that this book is on my TBR list. So steel yourselves, people. When I read it, there will be a review. In the meantime, here’s the fab cover and blurb. Click on it to get your very own copy.

Shaggymaggieebook

Harvey Young, rock star lead of the Scottish band Shaggy Maggie, has dreamed his whole life about the red-haired girl from the school bus that he bullied until she ran away. He’s resigned himself to groupie fill-ins. There’s no way he’ll ever see her again. Why torture himself pining for his lost youth?

Magda Canady may be on the unlucky side, but her life is starting to work itself out. She’s an editor for a New York Publishing company and her long-time lawyer boyfriend is taking her home to Scotland to meet the parents and his younger brother. But the trip holds more danger than she could have imagined. Between a psycho stalker and the boy who tortured her through high school, she might lose her mind – and her life – before it’s all said and done.

When a chance encounter brings them together once more, it’s the past, the present, and a little psychosis that may get in the way of the future that was always meant to be.

Shaggy Maggie Cover Paperback

242About the Author:

Tyffani Clark Kemp has been writing since she discovered in the sixth grade that it wasn’t enough just to read about fantastic places, but she could create her own. She weaves small bits of herself into everything she writes whether it be a science fiction piece about aliens or a dramatic romance fraught with conflict and love. In September 2012 Tyffani and a friend started SideStreet Publishing LLC. She lives in South Carolina with her family and her fluffy shii tzu-mix dog who things he’s a Saint Bernard.

FB: www.facebook.com/authorclarkkemp

Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6557179.Tyffani_Clark_Kemp

Website: www.tyffanickemp.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/moviestareyes

One Response to “Interview with Author Tyffani Clark Kemp!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Manifestations of My Mind » KILTMAS posts for today!! - August 1, 2013

    […] The Tarashere – Shaggy Maggie interview with Tyffani Clark Kemp […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

The Glitterati

Because if you want to keep them safe, you have to keep them close. So, grab your appletini and fluff your hair, boys and girls, The White Weasel and the Glitterati will be dancing your way soon.

Behind Closed Doors

Now and Forever with multi-published author and poet Tammy Dennings Maggy

Authors You Want to Read

Get to know new authors and books!

The Kindle Book Review

The #1 Site For Reader Giveaways & Kindle Book Deals

Back Road Journal

Little treasures discovered while exploring the back roads of life

H.L. Pauff

I write stuff

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

robertperry2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Mary Wehr

SEXY SPANKING ROMANCE

Modesty Ablaze

London Sex-Blogger, Sex-Toy Reviewer, Hotwife & FemDom Mistress

Musings Of A Creative Mind

A blog about writing and becoming an Indie Author.

The Red Pen of Doom

Conventional wisdom about writing is conventionally wrong.

Allison Cosgrove

Author of Murder, Mayhem and Romance

Becky's Book Notes

Looking for a good book? Come and read my reviews!!

erinsromance

The Gaelic spirit lives here

Ella Medler

Author, Publisher, Editor

